Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Stranger Than Fiction
13 août 2009

Mingei : Japanese Folk Arts

banner_5_plate

Since I missed the exhibition "l'esprit MINGEI" in the quai Branly Museum in Paris last year, I was intrigued to know what it was all about... I'm a fan of Japan and its arts, both traditional and modern.

MINGEI_3810877530_aa48793ec6

And then I inherited a book from a dear friend, called "The Folk Arts of Japan", with an introduction of the founder of the concept of Mingei Art, Yanagi Soetsu, who turned out to be the founder of the Mingei movement! By Googling around a bit, I stumbled upon a Mingei Art Museum... online. This is the site I want to present to you today.

This online Museum IS CHOCK-FULL OF information, and features +200 beautiful photographs of delicate lacquerware,

db_lacquerware_two_pieces_book_13

impressive metalware,

db_Metal_ware_iron_kettle_ARARE_D28cm3

paintings,

db_otsu_e_Rooster_japanese_folk_painting_18th3

ceramics,

db_pottery_tea_bowl_14_book5

db_pottery_tea_pot_23

I hope you enjoyed this little tour, and would, like me, want to know more about Yanagi, the Mingei movement, and how it influences Japanese design today!

Beautymist.

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité